MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 72 (CAMPBELL RIVER), HELD IN PERSON AND ELECTRONICALLY AT 7:30 PM, ON TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2022

Present: S. Briggs, K. Eddy, C. Gillis, J. Gladish, D. Hagen, D. Harper and J. McMann, Trustees; J. Morrow, Superintendent; P. Cizmic, Associate Superintendent; M. Kyle, Associate Superintendent; K. Patrick, Secretary-Treasurer.

22-154 Call to Order/ Chair's Remarks

Secretary-Treasurer Patrick called the meeting to order at 7:07 pm and proceeded to read the returns of elections to the Board as certified by the Chief Election Officer. He congratulated the newly elected and acclaimed Trustees and further thanked Tom Yates, Chief Election Officer, and Edith Watson, Senior Executive Assistant, (Strathcona Regional District), for their assistance during the 2022 election.

22-155 Swearing in of Newly Elected and Acclaimed Trustees

The Oath of Office was administered by the Secretary-Treasurer and responded to by:

Representing the Greater Campbell River Area:

Kat Eddy, Craig Gillis, Daryl Hagen, David Harper and Joyce McMann

Representing the Sayward Valley Area:

Shannon Briggs

Representing the Discovery Islands Area:

Janice Gladish

22-156 Election of Chairperson of the Board:

Secretary-Treasurer Patrick took the Chair for the purpose of calling for nominations and electing a Chairperson of the Board for the period November 1, 2022 to October 31, 2023.

Kat Eddy was nominated by David Harper. Kat Eddy accepted the nomination.

After calling three times for further nominations and hearing none, the Secretary-Treasurer declared that Kat Eddy was elected Chairperson of the Board by acclamation.

22-157 Chairperson's Remarks:

Kat Eddy thanked the members of the Board for electing her as Chairperson.

22-158 Election of Vice-Chairperson of the Board:

Chairperson Eddy called for nominations for Vice-Chairperson of the Board for the period November 1, 2022 to October 31, 2023.

Craig Gillis was nominated by Daryl Hagen. Craig Gillis accepted the nomination.

After calling three times for further nominations and hearing none, the Chairperson declared that Craig Gillis was elected Vice-Chairperson of the Board by acclamation.

22-159 Appointment of Signing Officers:

It was proposed by D. Hagen, seconded by J. McMann and CARRIED:

THAT the Board of Education for School District 72 hereby appoints the Secretary-Treasurer, Assistant Secretary-Treasurers, Board Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson as signing officers for the School District.

22-160 Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 7:14 pm at which time those present were invited to stay for a reception for the new Board in the Board Room.

Kat Eddy, Board Chair. KWP:nc November 15, 2022 Kevin Patrick, Secretary-Treasurer.